You are to live this life fully.

I am a very emotional person. I actually think we all are, just that some cannot handle it and it’s a blessing.

I never really talk about my challenges with people and I’ve got a reason for it. When you’re going through something people, just like me, find it easy to talk. They find it easy to tell you what is the best solution and how you should feel about the way things are. People’s mouth can easily open up and pour out words like: You’ll be okay. Calm down. Just take a chill pill. You’re blowing things out of proportion. I do not like it. I want you to let me feel this. We often undermine the high volume sound our presence has on someone’s  heart and ears. Do not do that. Sit there and shut up. Breath along. Hug me. That’s way much better.

I actually felt affirmed when I read something from Anne Lamott: Jesus told me that if you’re in a period of grief & suffering, and someone says God never gives us more than we can handle, it’s okay to scream.

At that point you’re hurt, and bitter, and raging and whatever they say sounds and feels meaningless. I realised that when I say “calm down” I do not actually mean stop feeling your hurt, however, I actually mean: Stop making noise about it.

The fact that you’re repeating the same phrase over and over again clouds our minds and hearts. I understand you’re hurt, and scared, and anxious, but please try saying it twice to someone – Not thousands times.

How about you write about it. Record it on your phone. But please calm down.

Express your emotions. I love what Anne also said: If you have a body, you are entitled to the full range of feelings. It comes with the package.

This means you are to live this life fully. You are to experience all feelings, love – joy – happiness – pain – rejection.

And this only proves that you’re still living and you’re remarkable. You are a full package.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

